Philmar Alipayo wins 19th Siargao Surfing Cup

General Luna local Philmar Alipayo is the winner of the finals of the 19th National Surfing Cup on Siargao.


Despite a lower back injury, Alipayo battled Piso Alcala in the finals for the 2017 win of the National Surfing Cup sanctioned by the Philippine Surfing Championship Tour (PSCT). What makes the win even more important, is the fact that this years event was participated in by 186 surfers from all over the Phillippines – as many as never before in a Philippine surfing competition.

Alipayo said that in the 25 minute finals he was lucky to get a good wave early on in the heat, which helped him to get a high final score.

“The waves were small so when a set comes, you really need to get it. I was really lucky I got that wave. I was already eyeing that one even while Luke was still announcing the sponsors so right when the heat started, I was able to get it. It’s a big advantage when you catch a good wave like that at the start of the heat. I’m really glad to win this competition. My preparation and training helped me a lot to capture the championship crown. I can’t thank enough my friends and sponsors for their unwavering support”

Alcala took the second place while defending champion John Mark Tokong and Jay-R Esquivel from La Union shared the third place finish.

With the win in his pocket, Alipayo will continue the competition in the 23rd International Siargao Surfing Cup, which will run from September 24 to 30, 2017 at Cloud 9 following the National Cup.

Leave a comment